flowbrown.blogg.se

Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8
Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8









smc fan control for mac 10.6.8
  1. #Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 pro
  2. #Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 Pc
  3. #Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 windows

#Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 windows

I have my MBP since a couple of months, coming from being a long time Windows user. I'd recommend a laptop stand to keep it off those surfaces and keep the vent clear of obstruction.

#Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 pro

If you want to be using your Pro model Mac notebook on your lap, sitting on carpet, laying on the bed, etc. Omg, after all those years of Windows, what a relief to finally figure out I didn't have to spend hours a week maintaining and looking over what the OS was doing any longer.Īs I never advised, nor installed a temp monitor / fan speed controller on any machine I built at standard specs for friends in the Windows realm, I don't advise the "need" for either of them on a Mac either. It took me over a year to figure out there was no need to 2nd guess the engineers that had designed the MBP and get tired of all the Windows tricks I had picked up through the years to keep that OS running good. Yes, I installed both of those apps shortly after purchasing that MBP - and a whole bunch of other stuff brought over from my Windows experiences - it was my first Mac and cost me about $3k - I could have built a "real" nice overclocked desktop Win unit for way less. I have an '06 MBP still going strong with I can't tell you how many hours of playing WoW (only god knows how many 8-10hr gaming sessions that thing has seen) and watching video (it is now used as a movie/streaming machine staying permanently attached to one of my TVs). There is no "need" for either of the above 2 apps. As such, I was one extremely interested in temps/fan speeds on my own highly overclocked systems. Give them a whirl and post any comments or questions here.Īs a home system builder, I've been building my own rigs and began overclocking in '95. See post attachments for a picture of SMC Fan Control. Again, it auto starts after login and remains in the background with a little status menu icon. Profiles (or favorites as they call them) can also be auto applied under various conditions. This is handy as you could make a profile for browsing, video editing and gaming. You can change the readings between F and C degrees and even created speed profiles. It is by far the safest and most reliable fan modifier out there. Also, it will not let you set a min fan speed below the Apple defaults.

smc fan control for mac 10.6.8

This means the system can still regulate the speed if it got too hot as that would be a max speed. So why SMC? It only allows you to set minimum fan speeds. There is some debate in the Apple world about the need to alter fan speeds, but I personally have found this little gem to be a savour to keep the iMac under control in terms of temps, and prolong the life of its components. The second app is called 'SMC Fan Control' which is a popular fan speed modifier for apple systems. See post attachements for a picture of Temperature Gauge. You can have warnings posted when it reaches a certain temp and it will auto start in the background (no dock icon, just a menu bar icon) upon logon. Fan revs are also visible with health indicator bars (green, yellow, red). The app will also show a nice visual display of the temps with a marker showing the maximum it achieved. It shows temperatures for CPU cores, GPU, optical drives, LCD monitor and Hard Drives.

#Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8 Pc

Having been a Windows PC user, I was not used to this and was later told that imacs do get hot as they disperse heat via its aluminum casing. I started looking for such an app when my iMac was extremely hot to touch. It is available from the App Store for a small fee of £2.99GBP / $4.68USD. The first app is called 'Temperature Gauge' by Tunabelly Software. I have only been a MAC user since June 2012, having replaced my Windows Desktop with a mid-2011 27" iMac.

smc fan control for mac 10.6.8

There are two apps that I highly recommend for iMac and MacBookPro users.











Smc fan control for mac 10.6.8